Official Accounts Can't Lie
Find out about someone's:
Alabama divorce certificates have been available since 1950 for divorces that occurred in the state. If you want a certificate for a divorce prior to that year, you’ll need to know the circuit court in which the divorce was granted and apply at that office. Unlike other states that require identification and a stated reason for wanting to search public divorce records, Alabama has no such rule. All you have to do is supply information that is needed for the record’s search and pay the fee.
To help the search, you’ll need to provide as much information as you can, such as the full name of petitioner and respondent, the date of the divorce and county where it was granted, and your mailing information, including a signature and phone number. The current fee to obtain a divorce certificate is $15 and $6 for each extra certificate. Make out a check or money order to the State Board of Health and remember that fees are not refundable. Download an application or request one from the state of Alabama, fill it out and send to:
Start 14-Day Free Trial
To bypass the application and time it takes to receive a divorce certificate when going through a “free” state search, you can choose an online, fee-based search service that can perform the search for you, using any information that you can provide. If they don’t find the data you’re looking for, there’s usually no fee charged. These online services have been a boon to law offices and legal professionals who may need information within moments for an important case or filing. Your personal information is kept strictly confidential and you don’t have to provide a reason for your inquiry as you have to do in some states.
And, with all the divorces that have taken place only since 1950, you can imagine how many records must be searched through to find the one you’re looking for. Vital records departments can get bogged down and the time between your request and the actual delivery may increase. With an online service, you’ll usually receive the information within moments – or at least within 24 hours. The report will be presented to you in a concise and easy to understand format – unlike the sketchy or inaccurate date sometimes contained in state searches. Click on the link to find out more about an online search service and how they can help you find divorce records or almost any vital record you may need.